top of page


District 81 comprises 26 Territories from Haiti in the north to Suriname in the south, with representation from the French, Spanish, Dutch and English Caribbean. The district impeccably epitomizes true Caribbean unity. District 81 has 51 areas, 184 clubs, and well over 7800 members. The district continues to grow, with potential expansion of two other territories.

The Caribbean Territorial Council of Toastmasters was formed on February 15, 2003, at a conference held at the Terra Nova Hotel Kingston, Jamaica.


Fifteen clubs in the Caribbean then consented to be part of this Council as the first step towards becoming a Caribbean District. Later, seven clubs were added to exceed the minimum of 20 clubs needed to form the council’s first step towards the realization of a dream for many of us, has become a reality.


Our meeting was graced by the presence and experience of Mr. Ted Wood, DTM Past International President (1995), and his wife Inez.  It was chaired by Eileen Wolfe, DTM, and Past International Director 1989 - 1991. DTM Wood shared with the first set of officers insights on becoming a district and keys to club building. He continued to inspire the young Council with his keynote address titled ”Just Do It”


D81 has been growing steadily over the years.

Distinguished District this award is now the highest district award. This award represents a 8% net membership payments growth, 8% net club growth and Distinguished clubs equal to at least 55% of the District’s club base. 
2020 - 2021 Brenda Maynard, DTM/87.98% 
Distinguished Clubs

President's Distinguished District — This award was the highest level of recognition available up until 2019. Districts achieving President's Distinguished status represent districts that have had outstanding achievement in the areas of club growth, membership growth, and distinguished clubs.
2014 - 2015 DG Valerie Brazier/82.84% Distinguished Clubs
2013 - 2014 DG Ewart Adams/77.87% Distinguished Clubs
2012 - 2013 DG Rolande Tobias/ 69.44% Distinguished Clubs
2007 - 2008 Marlene Hall/108.24
2006 - 2007 Erich Rene/100.6 pts

Select Distinguished District — Districts achieving Select Distinguished status represent districts that have exceeded the program requirements of distinguished district status in the areas of club growth, membership growth, and distinguished clubs.
2015 - 2016 DD Dawnette Calliste, DTM / 75.16% Distinguished Clubs
2008 - 2009 Donna M Knight/86.35

Distinguished District — Districts that meet specific qualifying requirements and also meet their club growth, membership growth, and distinguished club goals achieve Distinguished District status.
2011 - 2012 DG Essie Gardner, DTM / 69.99 points


In the 2020 - 2021 Toastmasters year, District 81 placed

#1 district in the Western Hemisphere. 
#2 in Member Retention
#3 in 20+ members clubs
#3 in Distinguished Clubs
#4 in Membership Payment


Triple Crown Awardees

Toastmasters who achieve three educational awards in a single program year are acknowledged by Toastmasters International as Triple Crown awardees.

To view the current Triple Crown Awardees for District 81 - click here.


2021-2022, Innocent Richard, Jnr, DTM
2020-2021, Brenda Maynard, DTM
2019-2020, Fabiola Cleofa, DTM
2018-2019, Anita Ramprasad, DTM
2017-2018, Godalys Reina, DTM
2016-2017, Sherry-ann Batson, DTM
2015-2016, Dawnette Calliste, DTM
2014-2015, Valerie Brazier, DTM
2013-2014, Ewart Adams, DTM
2012-2013, Rolande Tobias, DTM 
2011-2012, Essie Gardner, DTM
2010-2011, Shirley Daley, DTM
2009-2010, Joy Gittens Adamson, DTM
2008-2009, Donna M Knight, DTM
2007-2008, Marlene Hall, DTM
2006-2007, Erich Rene, DTM
2005-2006, Darcy Lopes, DTM
2004-2005, Robert Scott, DTM
2003-2004, Paul Sharpe, DTM
bottom of page